DE | EN | FR
  • Sign up
  • Login
  • ×
    DE EN FR
    Babies Children
     

    Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)

    The standard: from the fibre to the shop

    In order to qualify for GOTS certification, every single step of the manufacturing process has to be certified, from cultivation of the raw materials through to final delivery to you or to your organic fashion retailer. So you can be sure your new clothing has been manufactured with respect for people and nature.



    Key aspects:

    Heading: What is certified by GOTS?

    Organic raw materials

    GOTS-certified textiles must contain at least 70% certified natural fibres from certified organic crop farming or certified organic animal farming. On the garment label this is indicated by appending “(organic)” to the respective fibre. For organic fibres, no synthetic pesticides, insecticides, herbicides or genetically modified organisms can be used.

    Environmentally friendly manufacturing

    The GOTS standard regulates the entire production process, from raw cotton arriving at the factory through to delivery to the customer. Dyes and auxiliaries must be GOTS-approved. The use of toxic heavy metals, formaldehyde and functional nano-particles is prohibited. Accessories may not contain PVC, nickel or chromium. Any business involved must provide evidence of environmental management, including waste water treatment. The consumption of water and energy must be documented throughout the entire supply chain.

    Reasonable working conditions

    Fair remuneration and regulated working hours, plus health and safety at work. Protection against harassment, violence and discrimination, no forced or child labour. The GOTS mark ensures these as well as many other standards are applied in the factories where your clothing is manufactured.

    Building confidence

    Traceability
    For an item to qualify for the GOTS mark, every business in the production and supply chain must be GOTS-certified. If this certification chain is broken, however briefly, the GOTS mark cannot be used. Where part-finished product is transferred from one business to the next, this should be accompanied by GOTS-specific transfer documentation. This means a GOTS-certified product can be traced back to the raw material supplier.

    Impartiality
    Businesses achieve GOTS certification through independent certification bodies licenced by GOTS. The GOTS certification for LIVING CRAFTS is issued by “Control Union”. 

    Audits
    GOTS auditors perform annual audits of all certified companies, where compliance with GOTS criteria is checked thoroughly. GOTS certification is only renewed for another year once the audit has been passed successfully.

    Current standards
    GOTS is a dynamic standard. It is continuously being revised by GOTS, so that it always remains state of the art and current standards of science and technology. The current standard is version 6.0.

    GOTS – the history

    The idea for GOTS came about in 2002. The GOTS standard was then developed by the four founding member organisations and published in 2006. These founding organisations were the “Organic Trade Association” (OTA) from the US, the “Internationaler Verband der Naturtextilwirtschaft” from Germany, “The Soil Association” from Great Britain, and the Japanese “Organic Cotton Association” (JOCA). These four organisations are still behind the Global Standard gGmbH, a non-profit organisation set up in 2008, which manages and constantly develops the GOTS standard. 

    Even more background

    There are plenty more facts and background information on the GOTS website, for anyone wishing to find out more.


    LIVING CRAFTS Newsletter

    Join our email list and receive a €5 Voucher.
    E-Mail Address

DE | EN | FR
  • Registrieren
  • Login
  • ×
    DE EN FR
    Babies Kinder
     

    Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)

    Der Standard: vom Rohstoff bis zum Regal
    
    Um das GOTS-Siegel zu erhalten, müssen alle Produktionsschritte zertifiziert werden, vom Rohstoffanbau bis zur Auslieferung an Sie oder Ihren Biomode-Händler. So dass Sie die Sicherheit haben, dass Ihr neues Kleidungsstück wirklich in Einklang mit Mensch und Natur hergestellt wurde.



    Die Kernaspekte:

    Was wird von GOTS zertifiziert?

    Ökologische Rohstoffe
    GOTS-zertifizierte Textilien müssen mindestens 70 % zertifizierte Naturfasern aus kontrolliert biologischem Anbau (kbA) oder kontrolliert biologischer Tierhaltung (kbT) enthalten. In der Materialzusammensetzung wird dies durch den Zusatz „(Bio)“ gekennzeichnet. Bei biologisch erzeugten Fasern dürfen weder synthetische Pestizide, Insektizide, Herbizide, noch gentechnisch veränderte Organismen verwendet werden.

    Umweltschonende Produktion
    Vom Eintreffen der Roh-Baumwolle in der Fabrik bis zur Auslieferung an den Kunden, GOTS-Standards regeln den gesamten Produktionsprozess. Farbstoffe und Zusätze müssen GOTS-geprüft sein. Der Einsatz giftiger Schwermetalle, von Formaldehyd und funktionellen Nanopartikeln ist nicht erlaubt. PVC, Nickel oder Chrom dürfen in Accessoires nicht enthalten sein. Alle beteiligten Betriebe müssen ein Umwelt-Management nachweisen, einschließlich der Abwasserbehandlung. Der Einsatz von Wasser und Energie wird entlang der gesamten Lieferkette dokumentiert.

    Faire Arbeitsbedingungen
    Angemessene Entlohnung und geregelte Arbeitszeiten, Gesundheitsschutz und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz. Schutz vor Belästigung, Gewalt und Diskriminierung, das Verbot von Zwangs- und Kinderarbeit. Das GOTS-Siegel sichert diese und viele andere Standards in den Betrieben, in denen Ihre Kleidung hergestellt wird.

    Vertrauen schaffen

    Nachverfolgbarkeit
    Damit ein Produkt das GOTS-Siegel erhalten kann muss jedes Unternehmen in der Produktions- und Lieferkette GOTS-zertifiziert sein. Ist diese Zertifizierungskette auch nur für ein kurzes Stück unterbrochen, kann das GOTS-Siegel nicht genutzt werden. Werden Zwischenprodukte von einem Betrieb zum nächsten übergeben, müssen diese von GOTS-spezifischen Übergabedokumenten begleitet werden. Auf diese Weise kann ein GOTS-zertifiziertes Produkt bis zum Rohstofflieferanten zurückverfolgt werden.

    Unabhängigkeit
    Die GOTS-Zertifizierung der Bertriebe erfolgt durch unabhängige, von GOTS lizenzierten Zertifizierungs-Gesellschaften. Die GOTS-Zertifizierung von LIVING CRAFTS wird von „Control Union“ durchgeführt. 

    Kontrolle
    Die GOTS-Zertifizierer führen in allen zertifizierten Betrieben jährliche Audits durch, in denen die Einhaltung der GOTS-Kriterien streng kontrolliert werden. Nur nach bestandenem Audit wird die GOTS-Zertifizierung für ein weiteres Jahr verlängert.

    Aktuelle Standards
    Der GOTS-Standard steht nicht still. Dieser wird von GOTS kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt, so dass dieser immer den neuesten Erkenntnissen und dem Stand von Technik und Wissenschaft entspricht. Derzeit wird die Version 6.0 des Standards benutzt.

    GOTS – Die Story dahinter

    Die Idee für GOTS entstand im Jahr 2002. Der GOTS-Standard wurde daraufhin von den vier Gründungsorganisationen entwickelt und im Jahre 2006 vorgestellt. Diese Organisationen sind die amerikanische „Organic Trade Association“ (OTA), der „Internationale Verband der Naturtextilwirtschaft“ aus Deutschland, „The Soil Association“ aus Großbritannien, sowie die japanische „Organic Cotton Association“ (JOCA). Diese vier Organisationen stehen auch heute noch hinter der, 2008 gegründeten, Global Standard gGmbH, die den GOTS-Standard verwaltet und weiterentwickelt. 

    Noch mehr Hintergrund

    Für alle die noch mehr wissen wollen, bietet die GOTS-Webseite eine Vielzahl an Fakten und Hintergründen:

    LIVING CRAFTS Newsletter

    Newsletter abonnieren und 5€ Rabatt sichern.
    E-Mail Adresse